IEEE Radio & Wireless Week

17 - 20 January 2021
San Diego, California, USA

Distinguished Microwave Lecturers' Talks

Monday, 18 January 2021, 8:00am - 11:00am

Organizer: Markus Gardill, InnoSenT GmbH, Germany


Chip-Scale Wave-Matter Interactions at RF-to-Light Frequencies: Circuits, Systems and Applications

Speaker: Ruonan Han, MIT, USA


Traditional electromagnetic (EM) spectral sensors using integrated circuit technologies (e.g. automotive radars, security imagers, cameras, etc.) are normally based on remote wave scattering or absorption by macroscopic objects at remote distance; the operations are also not selective in wave frequencies. In the past couple of years, a new paradigm of chip-scale EM spectral sensing emerges with features complementary to the above: they utilize various modalities of interactions between EM waves with high-precision frequency control and microscopic particles (molecules, atoms, etc.) with close proximity to the chip. This progress is enabled by the recent advances of silicon devices and processes, as well as the extension of circuit operation frequencies into the terahertz regime. Chip-scale sensing and metrology systems with new capabilities, higher performance and unprecedented affordability now become possible. Examples include THz gas spectroscopy sensors, on-chip "atomic-clock-grade" frequency references, room-temperature CMOS-quantum magnetometers, etc. This talk will present the basic physics of the some wave-matter interactions, key enabling technologies, as well as the designs and prototypes of a few chip systems in the category described above. We will also discuss their potential applications in bio- chemical analysis, wireless networks, PNT (positioning, navigation & timing), security and so on.


Ruonan HanRuonan Han (S'10-M'14-S'19) received the B.Sc. degree in microelectronics from Fudan University, China , in 2007, the M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA, in 2009, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA, in 2014. In 2012, he was an intern with Rambus Inc., Sunnyvale, CA. He is currently an associate professor with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA. His current research interests include microelectronic circuits and systems operating at millimeter-wave and terahertz frequencies. Dr. Han is a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSC-S) and the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S). He was a recipient of the Cornell ECE Directors Ph.D. Thesis Research Award, Cornell ECE Innovation Award, and two Best Student Paper Awards of the IEEE Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuits Symposium (2012 and 2017). He was also recipient of the IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship Award, and the IEEE SSC-S Predoctoral Achievement Award. He is an associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Very-Large-Scale Integration (VLSI) System and a guest associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques. He also serves on the Technical Program Committee (TPC) of IEEE RFIC Symposium and the TPC and Steering Committee of 2019 IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS). He is the winner of the Intel Outstanding Researcher Award (2019) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award (2017).

Fast Solvers for Electromagnetics-Based Analysis and Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems

Speaker: Dan Jiao, Purdue University, USA


The design of advanced integrated circuits and microsystems from zero to terahertz frequencies calls for fast and accurate electromagnetics-based modeling and simulation. The sheer complexity and high design cost associated with the integrated circuits and microsystems prevent one from designing them based on hand calculation, approximation, intuition, or trial and error. The move towards higher frequencies and heterogeneous technologies stresses the need even more. However, the analysis and design of integrated circuits and microsystems impose many unique challenges on electromagnetic analysis such as exponentially increased problem size and extremely multiscaled system spanning from nano- to centi-meter scales. Prof. Jiao will present recent advances in fast solvers to tackle these challenges.


Dan JiaoDan Jiao received her Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, in 2001. She then worked at the Technology Computer-Aided Design (CAD) Division, Intel Corporation. In September 2005, she joined Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, where she is now a Professor. She has authored over 300 papers in refereed journals and international conferences. Her current research interests include computational multiphysics, computational electromagnetics, high-frequency integrated circuit design and analysis.

Prof. Jiao has received many research awards including the 2013 S. A. Schelkunoff Prize Paper Award of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, and the Intel's 2019 Outstanding Researcher Award. She is an IEEE Fellow and IEEE MTT-Society Distinguished lecturer.